Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Art of Ruin Forum Index -> Am this most thing for are guild?!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kimlin
Raider

re: Quitting WOW

This time last year, I was approaching Warlords of Draenor with an air of reluctance. I really didn't enjoy Cataclysm especially when it came to the end with the 3.3 Dragon Soul raid. Everything Blizzard was doing with Mists seemed really good on paper.... until I got to actually purchase and play Mists

I quit the game about two days ago to play RIFT. Now, that game is turning free to play and WoW has unsurprisingly lost around 1.7 million subscribers, its biggest hit since ballooning to 12 million at the start of Wrath.

There are a metric ton of things I now hate about WoW and would return to if they were fixed:

1) The lack of nostalgia:

I started playing WoW by late 2005 and TBC was launched by the time I was around level 25. I would never get to experience any of the raids in Vanilla as they were intended, thanks to the balance changes of subsequent expansions and the lack of people remaining at level 60 trivialising game content. I would never get to fight C'thun, Ragnaros or Nefarian.

TBC was my favourite expansion because I still had real life friends playing the game and Outland and the gameplay of each class frankly felt like a blast. Unfortunately the community and my misfortune of sinking all my time into a class that was not only overplayed but could only play in DPS roles ruined my PvE and PvP experiences of the expansion.

By 3.0.3, the only raid I had cleared was Karazhan, and that was after a rarely generous group of raiders decided to pug the raid and invite me when I asked. Needless to say they steamrolled the raid within about an hour. It didn't feel the same.