Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Art of Ruin Forum Index -> Am this most thing for are guild?!
View previous topic :: View next topic   Goto page 1, 2  Next
GM Fright
Officer

re: History!

I've got this notebook on my desk where, among a few random notes, I keep track of everything having to do with WoW. I've been playing for over 5 years, and this notebook goes back to just over two of those years, to the very beginning of Wrath. I started flipping through it tonight, and it got me thinking about everything that's led us to where we are now.

I hate nostalgia in this game. Talking about "the good ole days" and "back when" is a dangerous and stupid path to take, and I won't do it. However, in this case, everything that's led up to now has very definitely sucked giant balls by comparison, so I thought, considering how much Banana likes stories, that I'd share this one with you guys from my perspective, in a not-too-detailed form, to give all you new folks a lesson in how this went.

The story of The Art of Ruin starts not long after I began playing WoW, which was around January of 2006. That next summer I joined an MC raiding guild, and that fall we cleared BWL and had started into Naxx. That's when my rogue looked like he does in my signature below. Then, when BC was released, the guild split, and eventually I became the GM. For over a year we barely held it together, and would have been considered a third rate progression guild at best (elaboration is a full other story). Finally, in the spring of 2008, I gave in, and when I threw in the towel, the rest of the guild did, too, and the original Art of Ruin was disbanded.